Jan 13, 2020 4:15 PM

Man charged with meth distribution close to Great Bend school

Posted Jan 13, 2020 4:15 PM
Stephen Arnold Jr.
Stephen Arnold Jr.

During the last several months, the Great Bend Police Department has continued its on-going investigations of narcotics violations occurring within the City of Great Bend.

As a result of one of those investigations, Great Bend Police detectives conducted a traffic stop on Friday, Jan. 10 at approximately 2:20 p.m. in the 1600 block of Lakin Avenue.

Stephen Michael Arnold Jr., w/m age 34, was placed under arrest on two counts of distribution of methamphetamine within 1,000 feet of a school. Arnold was transported to the Barton County Detention Center where he was booked in lieu of a $300,000 bond.

The investigation is still ongoing. Anyone with any information in reference to this case is urged to contact the Great Bend Police Department at 620-793-4120 or Crime Stoppers at 620-792-1300.

Continue Reading Great Bend Post
Jan 13, 2020 4:15 PM
Schremmer approved as next Barton County Commission Chair
Kenny Schremmer was approved as the Barton County Commission Chair for 2020 at the Jan. 13 meeting. Jennifer Schartz will serve as Chairwoman Pro tem.

Great Bend Post

2020 will see a change in the person handling the gavel and reading through Barton County Commission meeting agendas.

Kenny Schremmer was nominated and approved as the next Commission Chair after Jennifer Schartz handled the role for the majority of last year. Schremmer will serve as Chairman for the first time since 2015.

"I thank everybody over the years that we have been here, and we are hoping we can make this a good year for everybody," said Schremmer.

Serving as the Chairwoman Pro tem in 2019, Schartz took over the lead spot after Alicia Straub resigned her spot on the Commission when she was named to the Kansas House of Representatives last spring.

Schremmer was reelected to the Commission’s 1st District seat in the 2018 General Election.

"This is such a nice group of people," said Schremmer. "We have a good group that want to work together and that is the best time to be involved."

There is expected to be a new look to the Commission following this year, as both Don Davis and Homer Kruckenberg have commented they do not plan on running for reelection.

Schartz was nominated and approved to be the Chairwoman Pro tem this year.