May 25, 2023

Biggs named Jayhawk West Coach of the Year; 9 Cougars earn postseason honors

Posted May 25, 2023 7:04 PM
Barton Athletics
Barton Athletics

Barton Sports Info

Clinching their second consecutive KJCCC West Title, the 6th ranked Barton Community College Baseball team was recognized Tuesday afternoon with the Cougars netting the Jayhawk West Coach of the Year award with nine members joining the KJCCC West team and two landing on the All-Region VI team announced Tuesday afternoon.

Finishing with the program's best single season record of 51-10 and top mark in the Jayhawk West at 26-6, Head Coach Brent Biggs was tabbed the KJCCC West Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season and third time in his nine-year career. Not dropping a series for the second straight year, Biggs, and his Cougars surpassed the 40-win mark for the fourth time in his tenure while concluding the regular season ranked 6th nationally.

Middle infielder Ricardo Sanchez and outfielder Riley Silva headlined the nine individuals with First Team All-KJCCC West and All-Region VI Second Team honors. Balanced up and down the lineup all season long four of the selections came on the second-team list outfielder Robby Bolin, utility Quinton Robertson and starting pitchers David Stuart and Tegan Cain. First baseman Dryden Howse and reliever Hunter Jones concluded the selections with All-Jayhawk West honorable mentions nods.